An Orphan's Journey

An Orphan's Journey

The new heartwarming saga from the Sunday Times bestselling author

Rosie Goodwin

$21.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of A Maiden's Voyage; perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Catherine Cookson.

'Goodwin is a master of her craft. The perfect book for a cold winter's evening' Lancashire Evening Post

'Goodwin is a fabulous writer' Worcester Evening News

'A vibrant page-turner with entrancing characters' Margaret Dickinson

'Rosie writes such heartwarming sagas' Lyn Andrews

1874.

Growing up in extreme poverty in London, Pearl thinks life can get no worse. But when her parents discover there's yet another baby on the way, they have to tighten the belt even further. Pearl's mother decides to send her and her younger sister Eliza to the workhouse, where they are forced into a new life of hardship and struggle.

Pearl's hopes are raised when the workhouse offers the sisters a new life in Canada and they board an orphan ship transporting unwanted children across the seas. Pearl hopes their luck has finally changed when she and Eliza are hired by the kindly Mrs Forbes to work in her grand house together. But when Pearl meets their mistress's bullying son Monty he reveals he will stop at nothing to make her life a misery.

Will Pearl ever find the home she so craves?


Author

Rosie Goodwin:
Rosie Goodwin is the million copy bestselling author of more than thirty novels. She is the first author in the world to be allowed to follow three of Catherine Cookson's trilogies with her own sequels. Having worked in the social services sector for many years, then fostered a number of children, she is now a full-time novelist. She is one of the top 50 most borrowed authors from UK libraries. Rosie lives in Nuneaton, the setting for many of her books, with her husband and their beloved dogs.

Info

Reviews